Skip to content

Reading my way around the world

by on February 21, 2011

I’ve always been interested in history, geography, and to a lesser extent world politics.  I feel my grasp of U.S. history is better than average.  Or at least good enough to keep from looking an idiot in a segment of Jay Walking on The Tonight Show. I enjoy reading about U.S. history with an emphasis on our military endeavors.  One of the better books I have read was Six Frigates by Ian W. Toll.  It tells the story of the first six American built warships and the role they played in the politics and foreign affairs of a young United States.  An excellent read that will educate everyone on the importance of an effective navy, regardless of your previous level of naval appreciation.

Like I said I’m pretty good with U.S. history, however, one of the things that I’ve learned in life is that looking at something from a different perspective can give you a greater understanding of a topic or issue.  One topic that many people have different perspective, or even different versions of, is history.  Each country on the planet has a unique history of how it came to be.  Some histories are deeply intertwined with others.  Some stand alone and are isolated from others.  Each history now shapes its country and defines its place on the current world stage.

So, to better understand the world around me and because I like to read, my new reading goal is to read a book about the history of each country on the planet.

Not every country will have a straight forward history book written about it, or at least one easily available, but, I should be able to find something that will give me a better idea of how and why that country is the what it is today.

I’ll be using the list of sovereign states as referenced on Wikipedia.

I’m going to go ahead and cross the U.S. off the list since I’ve already read several books and, like everybody else, took U.S. History in high school.

So, in no particular order I will read about each country and report back here after each.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

